Skateboarder Charged With DUID


This news story comes from the State of Oregon and was reported by CBS News. According to a representative from the Salem Police Department, a 20-year-old skateboarding male sustained serious injuries in a collision with a van, but is fortunately expected to survive.

Reports state that at around 5 p.m., the skateboarder rolled onto the street and veered straight into a 1997 Ford Econoline van’s path.

The skateboarder, who was not wearing a helmet at the time of the incident, was taken to a hospital nearby to treat his lacerations and broken bones. It was here he was cited for Driving while Under the Influence of Intoxicants (aka DUID or Drugged Driving), as well as for a minor in possession of alcohol.

The van’s 63-year-old driver, on the other hand, was unhurt and remained at the scene.

Based on Oregon’s DUI statute, it is deemed unlawful for individuals to operate vehicles in such condition. However, a revised statute defines a vehicle as any device that may transport a person or property on a public highway, excluding those devices that are moved by human power, and those that are used solely for stationary tracks or rails.

With this definition, it can be implied that skateboards should not be subject to the state’s DUI statute. Of course, all sorts of motorized devices are subject to DUI law, including those that would not normally be associated with the law. We’ve blogged about many of them here including skateboards, scooters, powered wheelchairs, mowers, and more.

Segway DWI in Minnesota

Minnesota recently ruled that a Segway, a two-wheeled, battery-operated vehicle with a set of handlebars and a platform, is not considered a motor vehicle and should not be subject to state DWI laws.

The incident occurred after a 48-year-old was caught drifting across the road’s centerline and operating his vehicle with a blood alcohol content of over .08 percent.

The appellate court stated that the self-balancing machine could not be subject to DUI laws, as it only runs at approximately 12 miles per hour and is primarily operated on sidewalks, bike paths, and in buildings.

If you are charged with DWI in the state of Minnesota and would like more information, visit us here or contact our office at (952) 835-6314 for a free consultation and case evaluation.

Leave a Reply